Our ChurchLeadership

Other than the pastor, all leadership positions at Peace Lutheran Church are voluntary--but what quality folks we have in various capacities!


Our worship accompanist (piano/organ), Yolanda Canaday, is second-to-none.  With a Master's degree in piano performance and years of experience, our music rocks!  How blessed we are to have a musician of such high caliber as Yolanda!


Our Church Council President is Vicki King.  Originally from Iowa, Vicki is a lifelong Lutheran (from a Lutheran Church-Missouri Synod background) and has recently retired from a career as a registered nurse, most recently serving as the nurse-educator at the Little Colorado Medical Center in Winslow, where she lives.  Hers is the cheerful voice of welcome at the start of each of our worship services!  Jeremy Madison is our Vice President.  He teaches business and economics at our Holbrook High School, as well as coaching basketball and golf.  Hailing from Oregon originally, Jeremy is married to Gretchen and they delight in seeing little Olivia grow. Our Council Secretary is Gail Buonviri, who also hails from Winslow.  Originally from New York (Long Island), Gail had a military career before moving to Arizona and working for the Navajo County Health Department, traveling extensively on the nearby reservations.  Now retired, Gail is enjoying the new experience of being a grandmother!  Katie Hill our our very capable Treasurer, leading a very active life as mother (to five children, teens and young adults), accountant (to a few long-standing businesses in the Valley), treasurer for the Bread of Life Mission plus wife to husband Jeff, and a good neighbor and friend to many.  Katie comes from Colorado originally.  Serving as our Financial Secretary is Germany-born Irma CarpenterWhat a great job Irma does receiving, counting and depositing our money, keeping excellent records at every step of the way!  Irma recently retired as the manager of QK, the accounting agency that took care of the payroll for all the Denny's restaurants in the West.  Irma is an active grandmother and is married to Charlie. Junior Castellano, born in Mexico, grew up in southern California and spent most of his adult years in Yuma, AZ.  He is married to Kory and is the father of three.  Junior manages the Love's Truckstop in nearby Joseph City.  Mike Burks is the only native Arizonan on our Council having grown up in Joseph City.  Mike is married to La'Dell and teaches CADD and Film & TV at Holbrook High School.  Only two of our Council members (Vicki and Irma) come from a Lutheran background--very indicative of the makeup of our congregation in general.  Barbara Justman, another of our charter members, serves as our sacristan, making sure our chancel is ready-for-worship.  Retired Anglican priest Bob Maxwell is always ready to fill-in as needed in any number of capacities. 


All of our other members, as the need arises, step up-to-the-plate to provide leadership and assistance.  We are family here at Peace--and all family members play an important part! 


   PLC2020Council revised
Top Row (left to Right): Gail Buonviri, Pastor David White, Jeremy Madison, Mike Burks

Bottom Row (left to Right): Vicki King, Katie Hill, Irma Carpenter, Junior Castellano



© 2020 Peace Lutheran Church in Holbrook Arizona
Connected Sound - Websites for the Barbershop Community
sex mother daughter